Introducing, my best ever sour dough loaf!!!

Hand made bread!! Nothing beats it.

Hand made bread!! Nothing beats it.

The wait is over. I can now introduce my latest sour dough creation………I knew it looked good before it went in the oven and as you can see the prove was perfect. I covered it in cling film and left it over night. I have found that the proving can be problematical during the winter months. There isn’t a natural warmth to prove and I have to resort to placing the loaf next to a warm radiator. It does work but it does also feel artificial. I much prefer the warm, balmy heat we sometimes experience during the summers here in the UK.

The result of a 12 hour prove.

The result of a 12 hour prove.

The length of proving I feel was significant to the overall result. The previous loaves have had long proves but not quite 12 hours. I also mentioned yesterday that the dough was quite sticky. This also gave a really good result. The ratio of sour dough starter to bread flour was evenly balanced therefore providing a good flavour. It actually looked like a wholemeal loaf once sliced so again a really good result.

Straight from the oven - it smelt so good.

Straight from the oven – it smelt so good.

Taste was superb. We tried it once baked and still warm and my panel of critics deemed it to be really nice (a 5 year old boy and a 4 year old girl!!) After giving it time to cool I sliced and toasted the bread. The outer crust was perfect, quite hard and very crunchy once toasted and the inner loaf was crispy after toasting. It gave you that perfect toast crunch that you can never ever achieve with shop bought bread. Again my panel thought it was perfect and the overall conclusion was that we enjoyed the flavour and the appearance presented itself as a shop bought loaf. That will be the next test. Comparing a shop bought sour dough to mine. Who will win?

I hope my images will give you an idea of how nice my loaf was. I have been practicing with my photography skills in the hope that I can convey the wonder of my food a little more effectively. I have throughly enjoyed staging my food and hope you like the results. If only you could taste it too!! Well, of course you can – MAKE A HOME MADE LOAF – it is so much fun!!!!

Bottoms up - a perfect bake!!

Bottoms up – a perfect bake!!

Sliced to perfection - practice makes perfect!!

Sliced to perfection – practice makes perfect!!

Leave a Reply

