Monday’s veggie recipe – Aubergine Burgers

Transform an aubergine into a delicious supper.

Transform an aubergine into a delicious supper.

After my post last night about vegetarianism I wanted to begin to share some of my all time favourite veggie recipes that are loved by my husband and I. The recipe I am going to share is a relative newcomer to my weekly menu. It has been in my recipe scrapbook for some time but I thought it was something that needed a special occasion. I was wrong. Yes, it does require a little bit of time to prepare and rest but the end result is truly delicious. I would challenge anyone not to enjoy this delight and we have certainly been converted to aubergines who previously sat lingering in my vegetable basket. The recipe is a great store cupboard standby using mozzarella, tomatoes, cayenne pepper and of course those poor old aubergines. I hope you will like it as much as we do.

Your peeled aubergine ready for the oven.

Your peeled aubergine ready for the oven.

2 aubergines – peel and slice into 1cm discs

5 tbsp olive oil and 2 tbsp lemon juice

Salt and cayenne pepper

mozzarella – sliced

4 tomatoes – sliced (I just used some cherry tomatoes that I had left in the fridge and sliced them)

2 eggs – whisked lightly

150g breadcrumbs (I buy some white rolls and blitz them in my food processor) with approx 50g of grated parmesan mixed in

Tomato sauce

Small onion – finely chopped

2 cloves garlic finely chopped

1 tin of chopped tomatoes

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees then place your sliced aubergine onto a baking sheet lined with baking parchment. Brush the oil and lemon mixture onto both sides of the aubergine and give them a sprinkle of cayenne, according to taste, and some salt. Put them in the oven for 20mins until nice and soft.

Remove from the oven, brush with the remaining oil and lemon mixture and leave to cool, turn off the oven. Once cool lay a slice of mozzarella and tomato over half of the slices then top with the remaining slices so creating a sandwich effect. Cover in cling film and put in the fridge for at least an hour, 2 hours if possible.

Tasty aubergine sandwich

Tasty aubergine sandwich

While the aubergines are resting make the tomato sauce to accompany the burgers. Place the onion, garlic and tomatoes into a medium saucepan and simmer gently until the liquid from the tomatoes has reduced down. Simple and a delicious accompaniment to the burgers.

Turn the oven on again, 200 degrees, after the 1-2 hour resting period and then breadcrumb your burgers. First coat in seasoned flour, then coat in egg and finally give them the coating of breadcrumbs. Lay them on the baking sheet again and bake for 15 minutes until the mozzarella has begun to melt and the breadcrumbs are nice and crispy.

Remove the burgers from the oven and serve with the tomato sauce and a maybe even a few homemade chips. I guarantee they will not last long!!

A humble aubergine will make your day at dinner time!!

A humble aubergine will make your day at dinner time!!

I can’t promise to post a veggie recipe everyday this week but I will try my best to show you just how easy and delicious vegetarian meals can be. I will also be tempting you with some more home made bread. I have as we speak another baby sour dough in the making. I can’t wait to put it in the oven tomorrow morning.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

