Simple pleasures….being in the kitchen with your children.

Healthy breakfast with hands on help from a 4 year old.

Healthy breakfast with hands on help from a 4 year old.

Roll up, roll up for a delicious pancake!

Roll up, roll up for a delicious pancake!

Cheap, simple & very tasty pancakes!

Cheap, simple & very tasty pancakes!

Firstly, an apology. I am sorry for my absence this week but family matters have required my attention and so this has meant zero blogging. But now I am back and ready to share another small moment of my life with you. I constantly think about what to write on my blog and the ideas never cease to flow. If only you could transmit your thought processes straight to your blog. I would be bombarding you non-stop!!

A healthy alternative for breakfast or a mid morning snack - carrot muffins.

A healthy alternative for breakfast or a mid morning snack – carrot muffins.

 

I may or may not have mentioned that I home school my two children. As a former teacher this has to be the best teaching job I have ever had! It gives us the most enormous amount of freedom and with that freedom comes the chance to do lots of baking and cooking with my little ones. My youngest seems to have the baking bug like me. When we bake, we bake. Never satisfied with just a few chocolate crispy cakes. Just the other day I heard ‘I want to  make a lemon cake’, or ‘Let’s bake carrot cakes’. Her interest in infectious and she pays great attention when we do bake. It gives us a chance to do a little bit of Maths, use the weighing scales, count the cup cake cases, half fill the jug with water, measure the milk and so on. It provides a great chance to talk, discuss, ask questions and listen to music whilst concocting our latest sweet treat. Her favourite of course is either mini cupcakes so she can ice and decorate with sprinkles or making pancakes for breakfast with strawberries, blueberries and a drizzle of sweet, sticky syrup!

Pretty as a picture - mini chocolate cupcakes, iced and ready to go!!

Pretty as a picture – mini chocolate cupcakes, iced and ready to go!!

Being in the kitchen has never ever been a chore for me. If anything it has been a therapy but the chance to do the thing I love with the one I love makes it even more enjoyable. The opportunities to learn are endless and of course to pass on that life long skill of teaching the next generation how to cook and bake. So, if over the weekend you are with your favourite little person, why not put on your aprons and get together in the kitchen.

IMG_1381 IMG_1386

 

 

IMG_1399

Leave a Reply

