The Northern Veggie – Day Two

A mouthful of pure healthiness - Cauliflower Salad!

A mouthful of pure healthiness – Cauliflower Salad!

Unlike some of the other things I have tried to abstain from, such as tea & coffee, leaving meat behind has not caused me any concern, or for that matter thought. On the contrary I have spent today looking forward to eating my vegetarian meal for dinner whilst enjoying the February sunshine with my children at a local park. The thought of aubergine, chickpeas, tomato & red pepper sauce and  cauliflower salad all made the day more enjoyable.

Firstly, I thought it would be a good idea to share my food diary as a whole allowing you to create a picture in your mind about my food habits.

Today –

Breakfast – Jumbo oats porridge made with goat’s milk and topped with honey and flaxseed.

Mid morning snack – A banana & a cup of Yorkshire tea

Lunch – Beans on wholemeal toast (my home made toast but shop bought beans, still super delicious and did you know the most nutritious and rounded meal you can eat!)

Afternoon break at the lovely park in Lytham – Skinny latte & half a toasted teacake

Dinner – (whilst preparing, an apple and a lemon water)

Roasted aubergines with crushed chickpeas & a red pepper and tomato sauce, cauliflower salad with creamy Cheddar cheese and a dijon mustard dressing plus some of my famous aubergine burgers.

I think that this menu looks like a very favourable plate of food, even for those of you are not vegetarians. I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner this evening and despite what some may say about the absence of meat I was completely satisfied and full by the end of the meal (and I still am 3 hours later). If a meal can leave you feeling like that then in my opinion you have well and truly succeeded. To be honest all the vegetarian food leaves me feeling like that even when the meal doesn’t contain any bread or heavy carbohydrate. I actually would rather do without them anyway as they contain the super processed/refined white flower in most instances.

My experiment so far has been a real hit with my husband too. He said that he thoroughly enjoyed tonight’s meal and that he enjoyed every single part (praise indeed!). Plus there is enough left over for a substantial lunch tomorrow.


Cauliflower Salad

Take a medium cauliflower and cut into bitesize chunks. Place on a large baking tray, coat with 45ml of olive oil, season and roast for 25mins in 200 degree oven. Meanwhile prepare the dressing by whisking another 45ml of olive oil with a teaspoon of Dijon mustard, a teaspoon of honey and a tablespoon of sherry vinegar. Then add 50g of raisins. Leave them to soak whilst the cauliflower is roasting. Once the cauliflower is roasted remove from the oven and place into a cold serving dish and allow to cool. Immediately before serving drizzle over the dressing, add a handful of chopped parsley and some chunks of your favourite cheese. I used creamy cheddar. Serve any way you wish, a starter, a quick lunch, a packed lunch, with some home made pittas or served alongside another of your favourite vegetarian dishes. I find that all veggie foods go well together and I am happy for them to sit alongside each other on my plate!!

Happy veggies and thanks for reading!!

Lx

Leave a Reply

