One ingredient – two meals – perfect!

2015-02-26 19.31.05

Three weeks later I am still loving being a vegetarian. What I have discovered is that it actually takes the pressure out of cooking. Providing you have a couple of recipes to hand, and of course a basketful of veggies then you are guaranteed success. Vegetarian meals are not always quick I must admit but they are without a doubt worth the wait. In our household we have reaped many benefits. I feel great and my husband too. We have been sleeping well, which for my husband is wonderful. I feel good on the inside. I haven’t had any headaches for over three weeks which has meant I haven’t taken any paracetamol. That has to be good, right? I am enjoying every mouthful of food I eat and a bonus as the cook in our house the food often lasts until the next day, so less cooking for me.

My recipes today are recipes that I have been cooking for many years. A good old store cupboard recipe and when sprinkled with some lovely cheddar it is a satisfying meal.

Broccoli, tomato & pine nut pasta

2015-02-26 19.24.56

Bring a pan of water to the boil and cook your pasta for 15minutes. (you know how much you like!)

2015-02-26 19.21.37

Heat some oil of your choice in a large frying pan and gently a finely chopped clove of garlic (watch out it can quickly burn), then add a tin of chopped tomatoes and let them gently simmer for 10 minutes. Meanwhile cut a head of broccoli into small pieces and steam for 5 minutes. Add to the tomato mixture along with a handful of sultanas & pine nuts. Allow the tomatoes to cook down until most of the juice has evaporated.

Place the cooked pasta into the tomato mixture and give it a good stir. Serve immediately with a good grating of your favourite cheese on top. It is also delicious with some garlic bread!!

2015-02-26 19.30.52

Broccoli pesto pasta

Either steam a head of broccoli for a hearty serving or use the excess from the previous recipe. Then simply add a handful of pine nuts, a good glug of extra virgin olive oil (3tbsp), the rind and juice of a lemon, 4tbsp of grated parmesan and if you like it hot a sprinkle of chilli or chilli flakes. Give it a good stir and again serve with pasta. If you are only using half the pasta then half my quantities. Partly it is down to your taste preferences. An easy recipe to play around with and adjust as you go.

2015-02-26 19.37.15

So, at the end of another busy week I say here’s too more veggie goodness and I can’t wait to discover some more amazing veggie recipes.

Thanks for reading, enjoy your evening. Lxx

Leave a Reply

