Update, no wheat, no meat.

2015-02-23 17.29.22Hi,

This is just a brief post to update you and how the no wheat, no meat campaign is going in our house. Well, the no meat is easy but the no wheat really does need some further thinking and planning. I feel as though some of the alternative food options are foods from another planet. Buckwheat, rice flour, chia seeds etc, etc when in fact they are simply foods that I am unfamiliar with. This should not cause a barrier for me but instead it should be a challenge as a cook and as a person who wants to find a cure to annoying skin complaints. I would love to be able to prove that wheat is the culprit but until I take a handle on the alternatives I am unlikely to make it guilty as charged. I have been reading some really good sites recently from brilliant nutritionists and veggie lovers who have been instrumental in helping me find recipes to guide me along this tricky path.

2015-02-23 17.30.03

In recent days I have been reading nutritionstripped.com by McKel Hill. Her site is incredibly comprehensive and due to her nutrition training she is able to give some excellent guidance on the background to living a plant based diet. I find reading about amino acids and proteins just fascinating. Another place where I have found inspiration has been greenkitchenstories.com by husband and wife duo, David & Luise.  They have some fabulous recipes which I am just dying to try once I have all the correct ingredients. They have a great recipe for gluten free muesli using things like quinoa flakes, puffed buckwheat and green raisins. I already make my own muesli which all the family love. It is a great way to make my children eat pumpkins seeds and sunflower seeds without realising. My son won’t eat porridge but by eating my muesli he gets some delicious low GI porridge oats.

Looks can be deceiving. Beautiful on the inside.

My Muesli –

3 cups of jumbo porridge oats

75g flaked almonds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds

75g chopped, stoned dates

Put all the ingredients in a  storage box and shake.

Delicious for breakfast with some delicious milk (be that cow’s, goat’s, almond or soya)

I think with a recipe like this you can add whatever takes your fancy, sultanas, chopped apricots, pecan nuts…the choice is endless.

Once I try out my gluten free option I will report back on its success.

2015-02-09 16.14.21

Anyway, back to the wheat free, meat free saga. I will persevere and just hope that success is not far away. Looking back on my food journey over the past few years it has taken me quite a long time to find my way and to establish that I love to cook ther vegetarian way. I love the sight of a basketful of fresh vegetables. I love a meal containing a bean or a lentil. And that if I never cooked meat again I wouldn’t miss it. Strange really that sometimes it takes you a while to realise the thing that is staring you in the face, well for me anyway!!

2015-02-26 19.31.05The evidence for a meat free life is staring back at me when I look in the mirror. My skins looks good, I feel good on the inside and on the out. I sleep well. I wake up feeling fresh and energised and without any aches and pains. The more I learn, the more I cook, the more I know that this is the life for me.

Thanks for reading. L x

 

 

Leave a Reply

