Easy peasy muesli

When I first started writing my blog a few years ago I posted about muesli and to this day I still love it.  I think you probably know by now that I believe making anything homemade it truly wonderful. If it means you don’t have to buy it from the supermarket then it has to be a good thing! Homemade anything is always going to win any food contest of mine. If you have made it then you know what it contains which is much better for your health. I even would go so far as saying that the process of cooking the food is good for your health too.

I have in recent weeks been experimenting with my standard muesli recipe. The recipe below is my hardcore recipe that I have been making and eating for years. I like it just the way it is but in recent weeks I have wondered about the gluten content. It is said that porridge oats do contain gluten but if you are someone who suffers from a gluten related illness it has been found not to have any effect on the condition.

My Hardcore love it as it is muesli recipe – I haven’t included quantities as you will need to add as much or as little as you like. I would say that you will need about 300g of porridge as the basis.

Jumbo porridge oats

Pumpkin seeds

Sunflower seeds

Chopped dates

Sultanas

Flaked almonds

Shake it all up & hey presto you have instant delicious, no added sugar or salt muesli!!

Now if you want to mix it up then you can add any of the following. It really is a great recipe to experiment with and to be honest you would find it very difficult to make an inedible muesli.

Raisins are a good filler and especially if you like to sweeter taste.

Chopped apricots

Chopped pecan nuts or even walnuts but I find them slightly bitter. If you want to change the flavour again then roast your nuts for around 10 mins in a medium heated oven. Keep an eye on them as they can burn very easily.

Now for some more unusual ingredients that can turn your muesli into something special. If you use these ingredients exclusively it will be a gluten free recipe (Adapted from the brilliant Green Kitchen Stories by David & Luise Freinkel, there book is next on my shopping list!) You may have to buy some of these ingredients online from a health food supplier. Again adapt the quanties according to the things you like. Any of these ingredients work well together. (My husband loves this recipe already!)

Pre-heat the oven and place the following on a lined baking sheet –

1 cup hemp seeds(these are quite strange and you feel like you are eating gravel but they are really good, trust me!!)

1 cup chopped almonds

1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

1 cup chopped pecan nuts

1 cup dried coconut flakes.

Mix together with a sprinkle of cinnamon if you like it and roast in the oven for 10minutes.When I first made this I felt as though there was too much cinnamon so you will have to add as much as you like. It is a very strong flavour so I would go easy at first.

100g chopped dried mulberries

100g golden inca berries

100g goji berries

100g raisins

100g green raisins

1 cup puffed buckwheat (this is a delicious gluten free cereal in its own right)

1 cup puffed amaranth ( I add these to my standard recipe and my son still ate it)

Stir it all together when the roasted nuts have cooled and enjoy a wonderful bowl of muesli with your choice of milk or yoghurt.

Thanks for reading. L x

 

Leave a Reply

