Water of life

How much water do you drink a day? A glass, maybe two. I could probably be rude and say not enough. I know I don’t and today for some reason whilst in the kitchen I decided to think about this further. Here in the UK we are told to drink around 8 glasses per day. By my calculation that would be one every hour and a half throughout the day until bed time. It seems a lot to me especially if you are partial to a coffee whilst out or a cup of tea at home. I don’t know why it seems a lot but I am going to experiment and find out just how easy it is to drink 8 glasses per day. At the moment I drink probably half this amount. I don’t just drink cold water although this is believed to be a good way to help weight loss. Cold water has to be warmed up by your body which takes your body energy to do so and in turn burns a few calories! I also enjoy hot water and lemon. Tea should probably count but I don’t think it does so for the sake of a fair experiment I won’t include tea in my count. I also recently read an article about a lady who drank 3 litres of water a day, which I think equates to 4-5 average glasses and her results were remarkable. If you want to read this article go to http://www.dailymail.co.uk and the article is titled ‘How drinking three litres of water a day took ten years off my face’ written on 30th October 2013. Her digestion improved,  joint pains disappeared, she lost weight, her cellulite disappeared and her skin became plumper and firmer. An amazing result.

So, will this happen to me? My biggest concern is how many times I will need the toilet. I already go a lot (just ask my children!) I always go to the toilet in the night, sometimes twice, which I can tell you is very irritating! I need to lose a bit of ‘blubber’ as my son called it from my stomach so it would be great if water played a helping hand in this. Who knows it might make me stop turning to the kettle for a hot caffeinated drink, surely a good thing.

In the morning I am going to take a picture of my face. I might take a picture of other parts of my body but I won’t be posting those!! (Sadly I am not quite underwear model material!!) I will post the results though on a week by week basis. I will give this a go for 4 weeks and hopefully it will be long enough to try to change some of my bad habits.

Goal – To drink 3 litres of water a day

Aim – To improve my overall health and reduce my intake of calorie laden, caffeine laden drinks and probably save me some money in the process.

Time scale – 4 weeks if I can manage it!!

Here are some of the benefits & facts about  drinking water –

85% of your brain is water. If you’re dehydrated both your body & your mind will be stressed.

Drinking water helps to lubricate the joints in your body.

Fine lines and wrinkles are deeper when dehydrated so drinking water hydrates skin cells and plumps them up, making your face look younger.

Water flushes out impurities and helps improve circulation and blood flow, leaving your face clean, clear & glowing.

Along with fibre water is good for digestion. It dissolves waste particles and pass them smoothly through your digestive tract.

If you’re dehydrated, your body absorbs all the water, leaving your bowel motions dry and difficult to pass.

Water dilutes the salts and minerals in your urine that form the solid crystals known as kidney stones. Stones are less likely to form in diluted urine, so if you drink plenty of water you will reduce your risk.

Finally, water boosts your energy!! If you are feeling drained and depleted, get a pick me up with water. Dehydration makes you feel fatigued. Why? Because water helps the blood transport oxygen and other essential nutrients to your cells. If you’re getting enough water your heart doesn’t have to work as hard to pump blood through your body.

(Please note I am not a doctor. These facts have been taken from webmd.boots.com If you are making drastic changes to your lifestyle or diet please consult a doctor before doing so)

So, in between writing this post I have been downstairs, filled a 2 litre jug with water and put it in the fridge. No excuses, and I always love to be organised. That way you have no excuse not to do something!!

Watch this space and please comment on your water experiences!! I would love to hear from you……thanks for reading. L x

 

 

Leave a Reply

