Empty pan syndrome!

Remember my post last night all about my delicious soup, well it has all been eaten! I have just had a very funny text conversation with a good friend who tomorrow is coming to visit with her daughters. She picked me up on the fact that in an earlier post I said you can always find a pan of soup on the stove. I replied saying that it had all been eaten by my very hungry husband, and so I now officially have the empty pan syndrome. Anybody would think I was catering for a cafe with the quantity of food I seem to cook. On Monday I made some granola – gone. Last night I made a roast pepper salad – gone. My delicious pan of bacon and lentil soup – gone. It is just unbelievable but very satisfying too. It is nice to know that my family are eating well. Eating healthy, wholesome food that doesn’t have loads of preservatives, additives or salt. This is why I cook from scratch most days of the week, and have done now for over 10 years. I want to know what we are eating. I like to be in control of what we are eating.

So, it looks as though before my friend visits tomorrow I will be making a new pan of soup. Great. It is such a brilliant store cupboard soup I will have it ready in no time at all. But if you fancy a different soup recipe then here is the easiest and speediest soup you can possibly make. I haven’t any photos of the soup, why, because it has all been eaten 😉

Courgette & Potato Soup

You will need –

25g unsalted butter

A medium potato, cubed

A small white onion, chopped

2 medium courgettes, chopped

450ml vegetable stock, or water and plenty of salt and black pepper

Heat the butter in a large pan until it is sizzling then immediately add the potato and onion, season well with black pepper and a good pinch of salt (you can always add more at the end) reduce the heat or it will stick, then put the lid on and lower the lid to allow the potato and onion to soften, this should take between 10/15 minutes. Then add the stock and the courgette, bring to the boil and simmer for 15minutes until everything is nice and soft. Remove from the heat and blend with a stick blender.

Serve with some freshly baked bread or as an accompaniment to a salad or a sandwich.

I love quick and tasty food and this certainly ticks that box. If you can buy locally grown courgettes then that is all the better.

Thanks for reading – L x

Leave a Reply

