Roasted tomato & tarragon soup

2015-05-24 14.17.58Good evening to you all. I’m back again with another super speedy, and of course, delicious soup. In my opinion soup should not just be a winter food. It can easily slot into any menu be it lunch or dinner. Time and ingredients permitting I love to make the best use of my oven once it is heated. If I am baking some jacket potatoes for the children’s meal or some sweet potato chips.  I often pop in a tray of peppers to go in a salad, or slice some aubergines to make my delicious aubergine burgers. And so if tomatoes and herbs are around I will of course make this soup. It can be on your table in less than an hour which in my opinion is worth waiting for if it means you don’t have to eat the shop bought stuff. Plus it is far, far cheaper. Where do they get the prices from for a carton of vegetable soup?

2015-05-24 14.28.36

Tomatoes are of course in abundance here at the moment and the ones I used for this particular recipe were some locally grown plum tomatoes. I do actually prefer the baby plum as they are far sweeter but these worked just as well. The tarragon adds a hint of aniseed to the soup taking away the slightly acidic flavour of the tomatoes.  Herbs are not always to hand in my kitchen. I don’t know if it just me but I often buy them, use them once and then end up throwing them away. I must try harder!!

2015-05-24 14.53.15

Roasted tomato & tarragon soup

Approximately 1kg of ripe, preferably locally grown tomatoes, cut in half

1 white or red onion chopped roughly

4 cloves of garlic, chopped roughly

2 tbsp tomato puree

Fresh tarragon, the leaves from about 3/4 stems (around 4tbsp)

4 tbsp oil

300ml vegetable stock or hot water

Salt & freshly ground pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 220 degrees celsius

Spread all the ingredients over 1 or 2 baking trays, drizzle with your oil of choice, I used rape seed oil and roast in the oven for 25 minutes

Remove and allow to cool before placing in a blender with the stock or water (or into a deep pan & use a stick blender). If you are a dedicated person you will then pass the soup through a sieve to remove the seeds. I am not that person and eat the soup with the seeds!!! (I clearly will not make it to the dizzy heights of any top restaurant due to this fact!)

Re-heat the soup when you are ready to eat and serve with some home-made bread.

2015-05-24 14.28.22

Leave a Reply

