The winning formula

2015-02-23 17.29.22Writing a blog is without a doubt a commitment. At first you feel almost obliged to write a post on a daily basis thinking that your ‘audience’ wants to read something every day of the week. But several posts on and several years after first starting my blog I now feel differently. Writing for me is about being instinctive, the words have to come from the heart and the content has to mean something to you, and in some ways irrespective of what the reader may think. Writing is a cathartic process that normally takes place at the end of a busy day. I have had to stop myself from feeling guilty if I don’t post and accept that when the time is right to write, I write! So here are my thoughts for today……….

2015-02-09 16.14.21Food, no matter how busy I am, is always important to me. I can confess my menu is far from perfect, especially as the moment when life is quite hectic. However, I have made quite a brilliant discovery which came as part of our ongoing campaign to help my husband’s sore joints. Inspiration came from a programme we watched called, ‘Fat, sick and nearly dead’ by an Australian man called Joe Cross. This is an excerpt from Joe’s website, where you will find lots of inspirational recipes to get you kick started with detoxing, go to http://www.rebootwithjoe.com

More than 20 million people around the world watched Joe Cross juice his way across America, losing 100 pounds and getting off medication in Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead. The film ignited a juicing movement. Viewers around the world have been inspired to start juicing, lose weight and get healthy – and as a result of the film over 370 million glasses of fresh juice have been consumed, 370,000 tons of fruit and vegetables consumed, more than 24.8 million pounds of weight lost, and over 220,000 people are now medication free. Joe’s second film, Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead 2 was released in November 2014. Through his journey and the lives of the people he meets throughout the film Joe shares all that he’s learned about how to stay healthy in an unhealthy world, revealing that most of us really do have more control over of our health than we think – and that none of us are perfect, especially Joe himself! His book, The Reboot with Joe Juice Diet, hit the New York Times’ best seller list in March 2014, and the companion guide The Reboot with Joe Juice Diet Cookbook launched that summer.

Your peeled aubergine ready for the oven.

So, we thought we would give this a go, well juicing anyway and stripping back our diet for 5 days to just vegetable and juice. The results were amazing really, and since we did this about 4 weeks ago we have continued to eat in a similar way, loads of veg, raw veg, roasted veg, veg soups, green smoothies and as a result, and without going to the extreme of juicing for 60 days we have felt a lot better. We have of course been careful to put protein into theΒ  our diet but carbohydrates have been swapped for veg. It may seem very extreme but our journey to find our winning food formula has been a very, very gradual one. My veggie experiment which began back in January has turned to a vegan experiment. Cheese, yoghurt and dairy based products have been cut back, and by simply detoxing for 5 days I have had higher energy levels and daily bathroom visits, for the first time in nearly 40 years!! It seemed to ‘reboot’ my intestine and make me address my vegetable and fruit intake. I thought I ate a lot of veg but I realised that actually I didn’t or at least I didn’t eat enough for my very poor digestive system. Following the 5 day reboot I returned to eating in a more moderate way but my results were still the same. I was truly amazed.

My husband also felt wonderful. He went one step further than me and drank the green smoothies that I made for him ( I just couldn’t stomach them but I will give them a go again!). He drank one in the morning, then had porridge as normal, a raw vegetable salad for lunch then roasted butternut squash filled with roasted vegetables for dinner followed by a delicious berry and apple bake. He did struggle with the lower calorie intake but coped for 5 days. His skin was clear, he slept very well and his joints were not as sore. Plus to compensate for the lack of food he drank 2-3 litres of water which he had already proved eased his joint pain.

We did this for my husband and I just joined in to support him. How ironic that the result was positive for me too!! It was a pleasant surprise. I have learnt that I could probably happily be a vegan. But as with my veggie experiment I would have to say that I was a pretend vegan. I wouldn’t want to make the huge leap to veganism but who knows in time this could happen. If you’d have said I would be a vegetarian 10 years ago I would have probably laughed. But look at me now. Happy, healthy and full of energy. I feel like I have finally unlocked the secret to my life long enemy – the toilet!!!! πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading and I hope to write more about my love affair with raw vegetables soon….xx

One thought on “The winning formula

Leave a Reply

