Fresh tomato sauce…quick and easy..ready in 30 minutes!

Fresh tomato sauce

Hi Everyone!!

How are you all? I’m great and still lapping up the delights of food photography. Since I last posted I have signed up for an online photography course which begins next month, plus I have borrowed my friend’s DSLR camera, which is fabulous and scary!! I just love the sound of the shutter opening and closing, the feeling of my finger pressing the shutter in the hope that I will capture that perfect shot. But my, oh my it isn’t easy! It’s simple when you think that all you have to really handle is the light, but the light loves to play games. Early days though and I know that with time and patience my photos will get better bit by bit. My blog is my way of showing this journey and helping me appreciate that I am getting better.

Fresh tomato sauce

So, tonight I wanted to share with you a quick and easy recipe that can be on the table in 30 mins, plus it’s great for the freezer and can be used to accompany other foods apart from pasta. Although it is delicious with pasta and even better with a slice of garlic bread. My fresh tomato sauce is my speedy go to dinner, especially for my little girl who is a pasta lover.

Let’s find out how to make it…

You will need –

25g butter (if you’d prefer use an oil of your choice, butter make the sauce nice and creamy)

1 small onion, finely chopped (it doesn’t have to be perfect as the sauce is blended)

1 small carrot, peeled and chopped into small pieces

1 stick of celery, washed and chopped into small pieces

1 400g tin of chopped tomatoes

Seasoning

How to make this delicious sauce –

In a large saucepan melt the butter gently on a medium heat. Then simply add all your chopped vegetables, seasoning with a grind of pepper and a pinch of salt. Put the lid on and turn the heat down low, leave for around 10 mins stirring occasionally.  Then when the vegetables are softened add  your tin of chopped tomatoes, stir and bring to a gentle boil. Put the lid back on and leave for 10-15 mins. Keep checking  the sauce, even with the lid on will quickly reduce down. Whilst you wait you can cook your pasta of choice.

Serve whilst hot into warmed bowls with a grating of Parmesan. Delicious. Easy, cheap, healthy, fresh, hot meal, ready in 30 mins. That just has to be perfection!

Have a great week and come back soon to find out how my photography is progressing…..Laura x

Fresh tomato sauce

Leave a Reply

